Arrival Score

Release date November 2016

Label Deutsche Grammophon

Format Vinyl, CD, Digital


Arrival Score

TRACK LIST 1. Arrival 2. Heptapod B 3. Sapir-Whorf 4. Hydraulic Lift 5. First Encounter 6. Transmutation at a Distance 7. Around-the-Clock News 8. Xenolinguistics 9. Ultimatum 10. Principle of Least Time 11. Hazmat 12. Hammers and Nails 13. Xenoanthropology 14. Non-Zero-Sum Game 15. Properties of Explosive Material 16. Escalation 17. Decyphering 18. One of Twelve 19. Rise 20. Kangaru 21. On the Nature of Daylight – Max Richter
“Johann Johannsson’s menacing, melancholy score, creates a heady, sensual atmosphere in which the boundaries between thinking and feeling are artfully blurred.” – THE NEW YORK TIMES 'Arrival' marks Johannsson’s third cinematic collaboration with French-Canadian director Denis Villeneuve. Staring Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker, it is based on Ted Chiang's novel 'Story of Your Life'. Arrival (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) features the complete scored music from the film – a total of 21 tracks. Jóhannsson has composed and produced an accompaniment to the narrative arc that is sometimes menacing – drone-like themes are a hallmark of his work – and always compellingly atmospheric. The closing track on the album is the uplifting On the Nature of Daylight, composed by fellow Deutsche Grammophon avant-garde artist Max Richter. Jóhannsson worked with several singers and vocal ensembles and combined both classical and avant-garde elements in his compositions, augmenting his already unique approach of combining orchestral writing with digital sound processing. Among those appearing are the prestigious Theatre of Voices, conducted by Paul Hillier, and artists such as Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe and Hildur Guðnadóttir, known for their unique musicianship. Jóhannsson also integrated some “found sounds” from the legendary avant-garde vocalist Joan La Barbara into his score. The soundtrack was recorded in Prague, Copenhagen and his native Reykjavik.